Coahuila y Texas

« Back to Glossary Index

While under Mexican rule between 1821 and 1836, Texas was not recognized as an independent state or province within the republic. Instead, it was part of a dual-jurisdiction connected to the province of Coahuila. The capital city was at Saltillo, something that Texan leaders, both Anglo and tejano, resented.